The Journal of L.M. Montgomery Studies would not be possible without the support of the editorial board, the wider Montgomery community, and many more people besides. The journal exists thanks to funding from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. The journal has also been supported financially by the University of Prince Edward Island’s President Alaa Abd-El-Aziz, who is a staunch supporter of L.M. Montgomery Studies at UPEI.

The journal is an official scholarly publication of the L.M. Montgomery Institute (LMMI) at UPEI, which has been a centre of Montgomery studies for more than twenty-five years. As part of the LMMI’s 25th-anniversary celebrations in 2018, the journal was officially announced. This announcement represented the achievement of a long-time goal: the LMMI had for many years wanted to launch a journal and the 25th-anniversary year seemed exactly the right time, especially now that the Institute has a Chair of L.M. Montgomery Studies at UPEI who works with the LMMI and the Faculty of Arts. The LMMI’s mandate has always involved both scholarly and public outreach work, including the biennial conferences, related publications, and, now, the journal. We are delighted to announce the arrival of the journal here at the LMMI, UPEI, and in PEI, the heart of Montgomery’s real-and-imagined country.  

The Chair of the L.M. Montgomery Institute Management Committee, Philip Smith, provides a wealth of moral support and institutional knowledge, allowing us to navigate the complex task of setting up a journal; the committee as a whole (on which it is also our privilege to serve)—Philip, Elizabeth Epperly, Laura Robinson, Melanie Fishbane, Donald Moses, Jean Mitchell, Rosemary Herbert, Tracy Doucette, Neb Kujundzic, and, most recently, Dave Hickey—is a source of wisdom, humour, and cheerleading. Thanks also to Carolyn Collins. 

Donald Moses, UPEI’s Interim University Librarian, and his web team, Alexander O’Neill and Rob Drew, have created the journal website—there would be no journal without them. Thanks to Donald for all his advice on open access, copyright, Creative Commons, and other matters relating to the journal, not to mention copious amounts of technical work on the website. Simon Lloyd, University Archives and Special Collections librarian at UPEI, is a supremely thoughtful, helpful expert on Montgomery, copyright, and intersections between the two. Jane Ledwell is our ever-patient editor and proofreader, who has provided the eagle eyes we needed as we finalized journal documentation. Thanks Jane, too, for helping us refine our style guide. We’d like to thank our early submitters (you know who you are!) for providing wonderful suggestions and edits to improve the submission process and style guide—because of these helpful, questioning scholars, submission will be clearer and easier for everyone else. Our deep appreciation goes to editorial assistant Cat Noseworthy for tackling long email threads, time-consuming footnotes, uncooperative images, and much more besides, with tenacity and good humour.

We are deeply appreciative of Kate Macdonald Butler, the Heirs of L.M. Montgomery, Inc., and Sally Keefe Cohen’s support and knowledge. Thanks to all the members of the Montgomery community—rights holders, publishers, and interested parties—who have shared advice and enthusiasm, especially Elizabeth Epperly, Mary Rubio, Kathryn Harvey (Guelph), Cailen Swain (OUP), Kevin Rice and Kathleen MacKinnon (Confederation Centre of the Arts), and Cathy Dillon. Many UPEI staff members have also made the journal possible: special thanks to the current and past UPEI Vice-Presidents—Academic and Research, Robert Gilmour and Kathy Gottschall-Pass, as well as to Kristy McKinney, Meghan Van Gaal, Lauren Keefe Hogan, and Kim Mears. 

And, finally but so far from least, here’s to our editorial board for bringing their enthusiasm and expertise to bear on all journal matters including commas and copyright, publication agreements and peer review, and, of course, Montgomery’s life and legacy. We are delighted that the journal’s honorary patron is Jane Urquhart. Like L.M. Montgomery, Jane Urquhart is an internationally celebrated and beloved Canadian writer. In light of Montgomery’s influence on her own writing, Urquhart is a champion of Montgomery on the national and international stages. We are so honoured that Jane Urquhart is continuing her contributions to Montgomery’s legacy by supporting this journal.  

For their pioneering work on Montgomery’s life and works, we celebrate Elizabeth Waterston, Mary Rubio, and Elizabeth Epperly as honorary editors and thank them deeply for supporting our new journal. Thanks to Laura Robinson and Jean Mitchell for being at the forefront of our editorial board as consulting editors. Betsy, Laura, and Jean have provided advice, guidance, and much-needed third opinions on individual articles and broader journal matters; we are so fortunate to have this formidable threesome’s knowledge, experience, and collegiality on our side. Editorial board members, who together contribute a wealth of global, multidisciplinary Montgomery expertise, include: Yoshiko Akamatsu, Balaka Basu, Poushali Bhadury, Holly Blackford, Rita Bode, Mary Beth Cavert, Lesley Clement, Carolyn Collins, Melanie Fishbane, Trinna S. Frever, Sarah Galletly, Irene Gammel, Carole Gerson, Marah Gubar, Caroline Jones, Yuka Kajihara-Nolan, Deirdre Kessler, Jane Ledwell, Jenny Litster, Simon Lloyd, Alexander MacLeod, Andrea McKenzie, Idette Noome, Tara Parmiter, Holly Pike, Joe Sutliff Sanders, Margaret Steffler, Åsa Warnqvist, and Lorraine York. 

Thank you all.

Dr. Kate Scarth (Editor/Chair of L.M. Montgomery Studies, UPEI)

& Dr. Emily Woster (Co-editor/Visiting Scholar, L.M. Montgomery Institute, UPEI)


Journal of L.M. Montgomery Studies, May 2019 



Most of Montgomery’s novels were first published in the United States, and US copyright law has deemed all works published there before 1923 to be public domain. Works published from 1923 to 1963, for which copyright was renewed, are protected for 95 years after the original publication date. Please note that the following Montgomery novels will remain under copyright protection in the United States for 95 years from date of publication:

Emily Climbs (1925), The Blue Castle (1926), Emily’s Quest (1927), Magic for Marigold (1929), A Tangled Web (1931), Pat of Silver Bush (1933), Mistress Pat (1935), Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), Jane of Lantern Hill (1937), and Anne of Ingleside (1939).

Permission requests for reproduction of these novels in the United States, beyond the extent allowed by fair use, should be directed to the Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Inc. directly at


L.M. Montgomery, Emily of New Moon, The Story Girl, and The Blue Castle are trademarks of Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Inc.

Anne of Green Gables and other indicia of “Anne” are trademarks and Canadian official marks of the Anne of Green Gables Licensing Authority Inc.



This research was supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.